Reading Challenge 2015: Book 13/52: Landline by Rainbow Rowell

Book 13 is Landline by Rainbow Rowell. This is my book with a one-word title in the PopSugar Challenge. 

image

I enjoyed the book. It was short easy read. I didn’t check the genre but I’d say its a mash-up of chick lit, modern romance with a dash of magic. 

The protagonist, Georgie McCool is fully aware that her marriage is falling apart but she is struggling to fulfill her career goals of writing her own sitcom, a dream shared with her best friend and writing partner, Seth. 

Georgie, a mother of two young girls seems to always fail at putting her family and husband    Neil before work. 

Two days before they’re supposed to visit Neal’s family in Omaha for Christmas, Georgie tells Neal that she can’t go. She’s a TV writer, and something’s come up on her show; she has to stay in Los Angeles. Georgie comes undone when Neal packs up the kidschildren and go home without her.

In the twisty magic bit, Georgie can’t get Neal on his mobile but at nights in her old room at her mother’s house she uses a rotary landline to call Neal’s landline and she reconnects with Neal from 14 years before when they were dating in college. 

What I really like was the dialogue. It flowed and was organic. There were references to TV shows, movies and characters that just went over my head and I didn’t feel like pausing to go research them. But overall I don’t think that detracted much from my reading experience . 

Landline is the winner of the Best Fiction prize in the Goodreads Choice Awards for 2014. This is my first Rainbow Rowell book and I think I’ll go check out some of her other books. I have Eleanor & Park in my ereader so I will get to that eventually. 

Any one else doing a reading challenge for 2015? 

Share how far you are on your journey. 

Let's chat

