Reading Challenge 2015: Book 18/52: The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold

Book 18, The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold made me cry, it disturbed me and I loved it. Emotionally I was pulled in and it is unfamiliar territory I can’t think of nay book that I have read that is similar. In opening pages, Susie Salmon, speaking from heaven, is presented as the omnipresent narrator, describes how she lured underground by her neighbour, raped and killed. 

image

These words grabbed me: 

“Because horror on Earth is real and it is every day. It is like a flower or like the sun it cannot to be contained.”  – The Lovely Bones, Alice Sebold. 

This book made me cry. In fact after I finished it a cloud of sadness settled on me that took me days to shake off and shift into my usual mode of being. 

Although I bawled, in the Popsugar Reading Challenge, I ticked this book is my book that became a movie. (I haven’t watched the movie as yet). 

Let's chat

