Entry 7: Diary of a Motherless Child (flash fiction series) by Chantel DaCosta

Tess didn’t come to the movie.
And she didn’t call to say why she didn’t come or to apologise. Diane and I
watched The Good Dinosaur movie, I liked it.  

But today has been awful. One of
the worst days since.

Mamma left last night. She
went back to Clarendon. She packed all her bags and suitcases and her everything
and went home. Daddy left for work early this morning. I guess he forgot that
Mamma was gone. When I woke up there was no one in the house.

Then Diane came in late and breakfast
wasn’t cooked until 11 o’ clock. I know Diane felt bad about me being here by
myself and me being hungry so she promised to teach me to cook.

I feel bad now for being mad
at Diane this morning because her mother is sick and that is why she was late.
The special oil of protection is finished and forgot to tell Diane. And I
wonder if I stop rubbing it on me and if I stop saying the special prayer if
Mommy will come back. I wanted to ask Diane but that might upset her.

I tried calling Tess again this
evening but her phone rang without an answer. I don’t even have a best friend
anymore.

Let's chat

