Entry 11: Diary of A Motherless Child (flash fiction series) by Chantel DaCosta

Miss Daniels isn’t at home. Her
house was locked up. I sat on her verandah waiting for hours but it got dark
and she didn’t come back.

I am home again. I am sad and
tired and hungry. I called Mamma’s phone but it went to her voicemail. Mamma is
not subscribed to any voicemail services.

image

I am afraid. I can hear Daddy
saying “I’m sorry. I’m sorry,” over and over, he repeats this like a chant. I
can still feel and smell Mommy. She is in the room with him. Mommy started
groaning and she got loud. Mommy sounds like she is talking, she is saying
something but I cannot understand what she is saying. I going to go to bed, I
want to try to sleep.

Let's chat

