Books I Started Reading (Months Ago) But Did Not Finish (As Yet) Part 3

image

Classics

I wanted to read more classics and then I saw a classic’s challenge on Tumblr and decided to participate. I even created a 2016 classic reading list based on the books I had access to, in January I was all fired up and thought I would read a classic per month. Here is the list of classic novels I selected: 

January- The Hobbit by J.R.R Tolkien

February – The Brothers Karamazov by  Fyodor Dostoyevsky

March- Vanity Fair by  William Makepeace Thackeray

April –  Daniel Deronda by George Eliot

May- The Portrait of a Lady by Henry James

June – Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery

July- Beyond Good and Evil by Friedrich Nietzche

August- The Mysterious Affairs at Styles by Agatha Christie

September – The War of the Worlds by HG Wells

October- Tess of the D’Urbervilles by Thomas Hardy

November- The Metamorphosis by Franz Kafka

December – The Voyage Out by Virginia Woolf

Its now June and I only read January’s book, The Hobbit (which I loved).  I started The Brothers Karamaov promptly near the end of January and I think I was around half way through. It is a long book, I made it to the father’s death and then my reading and listening momentum slowed and then halted. This Russian classic is a big book, 800+ pages and with its philosophical explorations of morality, human nature, life and family, I paused frequently to reflect on the meanings behind each character and the interactions. I am determined to finish this one. 


Vanity Fair by  William Makepeace Thackeray
 I really don’t have much to say, I didn’t get very far. And it is also 800+ pages long. 

I am keeping my list, I do have the books on my e-reader but it is safe to say that my 2016 classics will go over into 2017. 

Let's chat

